Keepin’ It Real For Another Year

Holy canoli it’s almost the end of January and it’s already 2015! My oh my where has the time gone. It was almost Thanksgiving, then Christmas was around the corner, now it’s a new year.

images Here I am back at work – a bit frazzled, a lil chubbier (whoopsie) and just wondering  what the heck happened these past few  months. And what the heck happened to my  cute, wrinkle free face lol. And my hair. (No really, it looks like this cats).

I remember thinking that I  wanted my first post of 2015 to  be really powerful, you know, to be something really great. I kept  thinking of all the different  themes I could attach my writing to for the year: 30 day challenges (ie: no dairy, or no complaining….eek), showing inspiring stories of strength and courageousness (because holy hell I continue to be impressed from those around me) or maybe some good books to read, blogs to follow, places to travel to, recipes to try cooking – you get the drift. I wanted to be profound! I should say something important. Something great!

n-UNINTENTIONALLY-PROFOUND-large570

Well crap, I got nothin’. I kept trying to fit this blog and my thoughts and my voice into a theme. But that felt un-natural. And so I never started. I was like the chick in the movie who’s sitting at a vintage typewriter with crumpled paper all around her, in a super cute extra large sweater and leggings and dark rimmed glasses, chewing on her pencil, barely being able to type the first few words (minus the typewriter, and the paper, and the nice mahogony desk lol. Just a girl staring at her computer. Crap, minus the cute outfit too. But you know what I’m talking about. Why are girl writers in movies so cool?!).

This isn’t a food blog. Or a yoga blog. Or an inspirational blog. Or maybe it is, or maybe it’s a little of all of that. What I don’t want is for this to be something that is regimented and predictable and routine. What I do want is for this to be natural, and fun and random and weird.

When I was little I loved writing. Notes, poems, music, journals  (maybe some notes here and there that got me into trouble) – whatever. I figured I’d never get a job as a writer (just being realistic here folks) so I decided the next best thing was to start a blog. And holy crap I did it, and that was 3 years ago!

hayden_shocked_face_resized

 

I think I started peaceloveandhippiness for 2 reasons: 1, to prove to myself that I could do it. I mean let’s be honest, we all say we’re going to do stuff and never really do. I do this ALL the time. And 2, that maybe one day, in a place deep down, that something I wrote would strike a cord with you. It would speak to you. It would help you, or frustrate you, or make you think differently or just put a smile on your face.

So I guess that’s what this blog has kinda turned into. It’s real, and gutsy, maybe heart wrenching, thought-provoking, potentially inspiring and hopefully relatable. But most importantly, I’m shooting for real. There’s enough phoney crap in this world already isn’t there? Let’s be real my homies.

So I hope you enjoy the ride of yet another year on my writing journey! My hope is you find and store even the smallest little treasure from my words in a suitcase within your soul, where every and anything that matters, is kept.

It’s 2015 baby and I feel alive. (name that show). 

Ps – Like what you see? And read? Then share my blog with your peeps! The more followers the merrier 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

