What You Need

Standard

Ever walk into something thinking you’ll get one thing – and then to your silly surprise, you get something else? Well this was me at a yoga class last night. I wanted a peaceful, relaxing, take my mind off of everything kind of yoga class and instead got a passionate, energetic and extremely powerful class that was set to a guitar, symbols, drum set and some elegantly simple singing – yes, I got me some live music. Now if you know me – you know that I am often easily excited at the possibility of hearing live music. (Similar to my love of sitting outside at restaurants, or in a booth. My ultimate happy places).  Something about it just lights me up inside – or maybe beyond that – it calls and speaks to something inside of me I wasn’t even aware existed. So last night I was stoked, it wasn’t the class I wanted, but it was something better. Nothing but live music in my face with the undertone of yogis deep in and out breaths. It was simply one of the most beautiful things I have ever been a part of. I know that probably sounds a bit crazy and corny but it’s true, it was this hour long moment that I know I’ll never forget.

And it got me to thinking (you knew this was coming…)

Sometimes life doesn’t give you what you want – because you need something else.

And more times than not, what you need oftentimes actually comes when you’re not looking for it.

So maybe we’re suppose to look at things in a different way.

More so like, all we have is all we need.

And then what we really need is to remember how blessed each of us are. I mean we’re here, we’re in this life, and we get to experience it and be a part of it. The good and the bad and the ugly and the beautiful. We have been lucky enough to be a part of this.

Instead of focusing on not getting what you need or what you want – focus on what you have. For maybe that is all you need. Right now at least.

And hell if that doesn’t work, throw in a little fantasy to survive your reality, whatever works.

But we just have to remember – what you need is coming. It may not be here now, or not even on the horizon, but it will arrive when you no longer are wanting it.

So in the meantime keep on keepin’ on. And things will fall into place exactly how they’re suppose to.

Oprah image

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

