She’s Crafty

Standard

Picture rain, sweatpants, boyfriend + dog, slippers and the aroma of warm food food on the stove and that is my Tuesday night.  Ahhh. Heaven. I couldn’t wait to sit down and finally dig into this warm and colorful comfort food that I had made for us – homemade butternut squash soup and savory paninis.  Have I mentioned I don’t really cook? Well that’s not entirely true, I’m learning, slowly slowly learning and absorbing. So where’d I get this yummy recipe you ask? Well my cooler than cool friend just started this fantastic food blog (www.lewhisk.com) where she’s posting all of these beautiful, colorful, simple and super tasty recipes that she’s making up and creating as she goes. She lives in San Fran and makes it easy for even the super challenged apron wearer (me) to produce beautiful snacks, deserts and meals. Check out her blog – she rocks. She’s a little bit sassy and a lot of bit cool.

So as boyfriend and I were dunking our sammys in our warm and comforting soup (seriously, go print up the recipe) we started discussing how fun our fridge was. Odd dinner conversation, I know. Like we should’ve been talking about world peace, or politics – but nope, fridge decor it was. But as I went to said fridge to grab more spicy mustard for the sandwhich (always grab more spicy mustard), I noticed how fabulous our fridge really has become and how it makes me feel when I look at it. So remember when I told you about how I had an amazing Saturday doing arts and crafts and….wait….I didn’t tell you.

Ok rewind (insert DJ Quik spinnin some records). So last weekend a best girlfriend and I had quite an amazing day. We crafted, chatted, sat in the sun and watched SATC. Ahhh, good day, good day. Who knew that when you’re not 21 Saturdays can consist of other things besides laying on the couch nursing a hangover, ordering takeout and watching Lifetime movies. So I found this super cute craft idea on this rad blog (http://bit.ly/zWXD5D) and decided to give it a whirl. I sometimes need to follow things step by step to get a good result. My friend, on the otherhand, she was a pro. She’s one of those people that can visualize something then make it come to life. Jerk. She came up with this cool idea of making personalized votive candle holders. Insert 2 trips to Michaels Arts & Craft Store (Fun Fact: I used to work there in college), a mess of craft supplies, the sun, the grass, an overly intrigued dog and 2 best friends – a perfect day for crafts!

Even my 4 legged friend’s paw took part in the creative process.

Hours and lots of laughs later we had officially crafted.

Voila!

Funky fridge magnets? Check. Unique candle holders? Check.

Want instructions on either? Let me know and I’ll send your way.

(These candle holders turned out suuuuuper sweet)

Ok so back to me getting the mustard. Wow. Hello tangent. Typical girl style too. Soooo we started noticing how fun our fridge was based on these super fun magnets (with words that inspire, make us smile, whatever; adventure, bright, family, beach house, chocolate) and all the pictures we have on it. Pictures of us, pictures of friends, family, pictures of cool places we’ve been – pretty much everything. Postcards, wedding invites. Oddly enough I had taken everything off the fridge that very same day to give it a good wipe down and woah, it was so boring, and white and lifeless! How great is it when some pictures and magnets can totally brighten up your kitchen. It’s us now. It reflects our funtastic moments. And it’s crafty!

Wait. Halt. What was this post supposed to be about? Who knows…

Go brighten up your kitchen. Or make some crafts with a buddy. Or try out a new recipe.

Just go play. Life’s to short to not be daring.

One response »

  1. This warms my heart jewels! I love your craft idea, I’ll definitely be trying this very soon. I’ll let ya know how it turns out 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

